An article relayed on social networks claims that any non-EU citizen will have to pass tests and be vaccinated to be able to enter the Schengen area. But there is nothing to confirm this.

“The vaccine Covid-19 will be required to obtain the Schengen visa. “ This statement comes from an article published on April 16 by Le Courrier du soir. This “online news” who “bet on the credibility of information in real time” is based entirely on an article from the site (in English). The latter is not an official website of the European Union (EU). The conditions for obtaining the Schengen visa described in the article have never been announced by an official European body. The True from False cell explains why this information is false.

The article at issue is based on statements by an official of the European Union (EU) wishing to remain anonymous. He explains that“Once the Covid-19 vaccine has been found and is available to everyone, visa applicants will be required to be vaccinated in the future especially if the virus remains active”. Contacted by Franceinfo, the Representation in France of the European Commission denies and indicates that“no decision has been taken on the conditions for entry into Schengen from the moment the borders are reopened”.

Guillaume Chartrain, a member of the EU delegation to the Democratic Republic of the Congo, who spotted the article, also strongly denied the information on Twitter. He assures that“No Covid-19 test is required for the Schengen visa application and no European official has communicated with this site”. Despite its very formal name, the site is in no way linked to the European Union, contrary to what Le Courrier du soir claims. The sites linked to the European institutions are identified by their internet address which ends in “”.

In matters of vaccination policy, it is the States which are competent, because there is no common position within the EU. There can therefore be no compulsory vaccine on a European scale, as the article in the Evening Courier suggests. It is also unlikely that a vaccine will be released this year. The EU has however revised several rules relating to the Schengen area in the midst of a coronavirus pandemic. While the EU’s external borders have been closed since March 17, the Commission published on March 30 a guide for member states detailing “the implementation of the temporary restriction on non-essential travel to the EU”. The institution specifies that these measures should ideally apply to all countries in the “EU +” zone. This enlarged area includes the EU member states of Schengen, but also Bulgaria, Croatia, Romania, Cyprus. To this must be added four countries which are not members of the EU but associated with Schengen: Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland. Finally, Ireland and the United Kingdom can join if they follow the recommendations.

According to the Commission’s guide, the travel restriction to these countries applies to “non-resident third-country nationals who present relevant symptoms or have been particularly exposed to a risk of infection and who are considered to pose a threat to public health”. Exceptions are, however, provided, in particular for health professionals, frontier workers or passengers traveling for imperative family reasons. These travel restrictions are currently in effect until May 15. They can be extended if the European Commission deems it necessary.